Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Advice for a new pick

Default Advice for a new pick

Hey guys, I just officially joined the forum. I have been playing for nearly 8 years now with my first and still only mandolin, an Eastman 605. For the last several years I have been playing with a Dunlop ultex 1.0mm guitar pick but I play with the more rounded shoulder of the pick and not the point. It works pretty well but I am thinking I would like to see if I can find something I like better. I don't really want to buy a blue chip or something without knowing what might be somewhat similar to what I'm used to....so recommendations?

Default Re: Advice for a new pick

I tried a bunch of picks and BC is the best to "my" ears !

WELCOME! Great to have you. I will be happy to share some pick advise with you. Not from a pick expert point of view but from a pickaholic point of view. I have no idea how many picks I have and no idea how much money i have wasted on them but you can be sure it's a LOT!

The best advise I can offer is; go to you local music store and buy several different shapes and thicknesses of CHEAP picks, take them home and spend several days/weeks playing with each of them until you decide which pick is best for you. You must also remember that different thickness and styles produce different tones. To prevent confusion, I would suggest that once you eliminate a pick you stow it away somewhere until you work your way down to two or three picks. Then you have your picks. At that time (if you see fit) you can purchase those picks in a more well-made brand such as Wegen. I recommend Wegen as they are very well made, produce excellent tones, easy to hold and you don't have to take out a loan to buy them. That's my story and I'm sticking to it!

Hope this helps, and WELCOME again,

Randy

Picks for mandolin !!! For me, the choice varies based on my skills as I progress.