Thread: Chord Help with this Song Please....

Default Chord Help with this Song Please....

Hey all,

I am just getting back into MANDO after a LONG time off. I was never very good to start with, but I liked it and now I miss it. So I thought I'd get out my mando and play around with some of the simple songs and the tabs that I got when taking lessons many years ago. As for chords, I only knew the BASIC ones, chop chords. No theory, no fiuring out what chords for this song, keys to play in or any of that stuff. That's WAY over my head. Maybe it won't be in the future but it is now.

Anyway, one of my very favorite songs that my teacher and his band used to play and that I would request when I seen the in concert is the old John Prine song, PARADISE. What an awesome song. Anyway, I was thinking about that song today and wondered what it would be like to play along with it while the song was playing. I've never done that before. I go to YouTube and start listening and trying some of the basic chords I know and none of them sound good at all. I am talking about the BASIC G, C, D, A, E and F. I don't know if they are major, minor or what. None of them were right, at least to my ear.
    I looked up the song and found where it is listed as having the chords C,F and G. Here's the link. This is GUITAR chords.
    http://www.cowboylyrics.com/tabs/pri...dise-2710.html

I tried those chords and like I said, they sound terrible. Can you all tell me what chords I would play on a mando to accompany this song? Would I also use the C,F and G chords?

As an example the C Chord I know is in 2 different positions, 1 is a 2 finger 1st finger on A at the 3rd fret and 2nd finger at the D at the 2nd. The next C is just like it except the G string is also fretted at 5th fret and the E string isn't played at all.