Thread: RADIUS COMPARISONS etc..

Default RADIUS COMPARISONS etc..

I've owned an Eastman and loved the radiused fretboard . I now own a KM-150 and love the sound but miss the radius fretboard . I've been considering the J. Bovier models and the Kentucky KM 950 in particular because of the radius and the positive feedback on their respective tones . Unfortunately I haven't seen either of these instruments sold locally so I've not been able to compare or assess their pros and cons .
    If there are any Cafe-ers familiar enough with both of these models to comment , I'd appreciate your thoughts on the radius fretboards of each-how they might compare to the Eastman's radiused fretboard- and the overall tone and playability . I know that's a tall order but any input is appreciated . Thanks all .

Default Re: RADIUS COMPARISONS etc..

I have a radiused Eastman and a flat Gibson. I'm no expert but as a quasi newbie I cant say that I really notice any difference in playability because of this fretboard difference. There are a lot of other factors like neck thickness and fretboard width and nut slot width that are far more noticable to me. I'm sure there must be a difference for some in regards to radius vs flat but the other things stand out far more to me. Are you sure its not the thinner Eastman neck you prefer? Can you put your finger on what you feel is the difference when you play them ?
    No matter where I go, there I am...Unless I'm running a little late.

Quote Originally Posted by Astro View Post