Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: At what point do I upgrade to a better instrument

Default At what point do I upgrade to a better instrument

I've been playing for about 6 months. I first started on an $89.00 mandolin by Guitar Works. Thought it was ok but then I went to a Loar 220-lm and the difference in playability and sound was night and day. I also have an Oscar Schmidt Washburn OM40. So I'm planning ahead to the fall and thinking I could sell these two and add some money to it. I've been looking at Kentucky Mandolin in the 800 series, Eastman and other Loars. What is your opinion. Would upgrading in that direction give me a better instrument. I think I would have a budget of about $1000. If go to one mandolin I would like to stay with the F style--the only reason is that I like the scroll design. It looks like I could get about $350 for each of the two I have. Any ideas?

Default Re: At what point do I upgrade to a better instrument

If you enjoy playing then get the instrument you want. There is no cure for MAS (Mandolin Acquisition Syndrome). Take two aspirin and call me in the morning.

That's crazy... I also started on a $90 mandolin then went to the Loar LM220, except that I played each for around 3 years. I guess you're following the same path as I... but quicker

What I've found when looking for a new mandolin is the difference between my Loar 220 and something around $1000 is noticeable, but not night and day like it is between a $90 mandolin and the Loar. That's why I'm still on my Loar 220.

I'd recommend an Eastman if you're looking to upgrade again. They've got that ringing treble sound you usually only find in much more expensive mandolins. If I were to be looking for a new mandolin right now, I'd probably go with an Eastman.

My Florida is scooped pheffernan's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Bruce Cech View Post