View RSS Feed

Mandolin Cafe Blog

A David Baker Perpetual Motion jazz exericse

Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average.
Looking for some free brain food to boost your jazz playing? Here's one, and the price is right. But you'll pay, yes, you'll pay to get this one under your fingers. I've been playing it off and on for over 20 years.

Download it here:
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Perpetual.pdf 
Views:	2724 
Size:	43.1 KB 
ID:	150694

I was discussing this with some musician friends recently and they requested a copy, so after digging it out I thought, why not share it here?

I didn't personally write this exercise -- that credit belongs to legendary jazz trombone player David Baker who taught for years at Indiana University. I've spent more hours than I can recall using this when I needed to hone my chops, and it's a remarkable exercise that taught me much. Sadly, Mr. Baker, who I had the pleasure of speaking with to get his permission to republish this exercise long ago, passed away at the age of 84 this past March.

It's a II-V-I exercise -- the most important in jazz for my money -- that winds its way through all twelve keys. It is part of a book he authored entitled How To Play Bebop I, still available, and it's not the only exercise in the book I dig. The entire book is a treasure.

My transcription originally appeared in an interview I did for the now defunct Mandolin Magazine back around 2001 or 2002. It's Baker's exercise note for note but with tablature added, and one F# near the end of the exercise that required we go up an octave because, well, you know, that low G doesn't retune easy while you're playing. Other than that, it's all there.