View RSS Feed

Notes from the Field

I am not a musician - part two

Rate this Entry
Three or so years ago I wrote a blog about not being a musician. At the time I of course thought that I had exhausted my musings. For reference.

Well here I am with more musings.

I am not a natural musician. Not at all. I am living proof that the Average Joe, someone of average ability, through a whole lot of constant enthusiastic practice and above average stubbornness, can get to a level that could only be considered an accomplishment if I were eight or ten years old. But I can play at that level.

Well, but have you heard some of these eight and ten year olds? Well. If I had started twenty or so years before I was born, I could have done that when I was ten. I was, at ten, still at least seven or eight years from starting on the mandolin.

So I can play entertainingly enough, but I suffer from two other handicaps, (or features) that I suspect are not something that stubborn practice can deliver. I lack musical creativity and I lack showmanship.

Maybe because of how I grew up or how I am wired, I much prefer to be told what to play than to come up with something on my own. I let the sheet music or my memory tell me the tune, and I let the learned expectations of the tradition tell me how to decorate, ornament, and improvise. On breaks I stick to the melody, or take excursions through pathways I have learned work well.

I am not one for improvising cool licks. I can’t “come up with something interesting.” I know cool and interesting when I hear it, and I can in some cases emulate it, but I can’t come up with it. I have taken a few workshops and here and there picked up a few hints and tricks that work more often than they don’t and I can fool a beginner. I have a few “do this” and “do that” books and they help.