View RSS Feed

Notes from the Field

I am not a musician

Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
In many important ways you could accurately say I am not a musician. I play music, but I do not make music.

I put in significant time behind my mandolin, my fiddle, and even my tenor banjo. I play lots of different kinds of music, from old timey and bluegrass to fiddle tunes and contra dance music, tunes from Eastern Europe and Scandinavia, to tango and classical. Some of it I do real well, some of it I do passably well, and some of it I really struggle with.

But here is what I don’t do.

I don’t compose. I don’t write original tunes or songs. I suppose I could, but I don’t have any really interesting musical ideas, nothing to compare with J. P. Fraley or Astor Piazzolla, or Johann Sebastian Bach, or Georg Phillip Telemann, or Hank Williams, or Ira Louvin, or that wack job of a composer Anon. And last I checked, I haven’t played all the music they have already written. If and when I use up what is in front of me, I will take up a pencil and add some more, but until then...

I don’t improvise. Well not much anyway. When taking a break I stick to decorating the melody. I love the music so much I don’t think I can improve upon it. Certainly not spontaneously in real time in front of others.

I don’t express myself. I don’t express something inside me. I have looked inside, (and so have many doctors), and I can tell you there is nothing there of any interest. I have had a relatively normal life full of relatively normal experiences. I have had my share of loss and disorientation, sadness and suffering, whatever, but compared to others I have had a very blessed life. I don’t have a catalog of unique experiences, I have not been to many exotic or noteworthy places except as a tourist. Heck I grew up in New Jersey.