View RSS Feed

Stumbling Toward Competence

Playing what you know

Rate this Entry
Back from vacation, and a few outstanding questions have been answered. One, it takes only two practice sessions until you can noticeably tell the callouses are rebuilding. Two, going from 85F to 0F can depress your immune system (*cough*).

My last blog entry provoked more response than any other, centering around this comment:
The biggest problem I have had before is that my background is not from bluegrass, and learning a new genre of music when learning an instrument is counter productive (too much all at once). So, whereas I will continue to pick fiddle tunes, I will also spend more time on the music I grew up with and love, and see where the instrument and music fit together. And we'll see.
My point was not "bluegrass sucks" or anything of the sort, but that when learning a new instrument, learning entirely new genres of music might be a step beyond for many of us (especially us older players with more crystallized neural pathways, as one message I received pointed out). For the beginner, sticking with music you already know and love might be the better approach, at least early on, to minimize discouragement and ensure a longer term relationship with the mandolin. Plus, the mandolin can play any sort of music. Its a versatile little instrument.