View RSS Feed

Mandolin Cafe Blog

Official blog of the Mandolin Cafe

1. Searching for items that have sold on the Classifieds

A brief tutorial on how to search the Classifieds for items that have sold. Because we like viewing measurable information, it's fun to see what is selling or has sold. Many, but certainly not all sellers mark the item as such to prevent having to address additional replies.

Through some programming, any time the word Sold or sold appears in the title of the ad it's automatically changed to upper case SOLD, the idea that it stands out better in upper case. By using the Cafe's Advanced Search ...

Updated Nov-20-2016 at 10:39am by Scott Tichenor

Categories
    Mandolin Cafe Site Information
  2. A David Baker Perpetual Motion jazz exericse

Looking for some free brain food to boost your jazz playing? Here's one, and the price is right. But you'll pay, yes, you'll pay to get this one under your fingers. I've been playing it off and on for over 20 years.

Download it here:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Perpetual.pdf 
Views:	2717 
Size:	43.1 KB 
ID:	150694

I was discussing this with some musician friends recently and they requested a copy, so after digging it out I thought, why not share it here?

I didn't personally write this exercise ...

Updated Oct-27-2016 at 10:12pm by Mandolin Cafe

Categories
    General Mandolin Comments
  3. Make a million dollars building mandolins!

"Psst, hey meester. Over here. Want make million bucks? Build mandolins, guitars, banjos!"

Words posted in a discussion awhile back haven't stopped ringing in my ears. Sadly, they went unchallenged. To paraphrase, so you don't run out to Google it -- some of you will regardless -- when discussing changes at Weber recently (now under the Two Old Hippies ownership) a member angrily declared, "Weber Mandolins now exists for nothing other than the sole purpose of making the Two Old Hippies ...
  4. Images for Classifieds now uploadable from iPhone