PDA

View Full Version : String question

csstanley
Feb-18-2005, 9:10pm
I'm new to the Mando but not strings in general. Been playin a guitar for around 7 or 8 years.

Catching on quick that the same make in guitar strings is not the same as in mandolins. I personally like Ernie Ball for my guitar. I like tha action I get from them and the feel. I understand that its a personal thing too. Most of you have your own likes and dislikes.

But give me some help on the mando strings.

I changed out the strings that came on the mando. I dare not repeat what type of mando I got. Some of you may laugh. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

But really, I bought me some Elixir ultra light with the nanoweb coating on them. My brother-in-law said that they would last longer. He didn't tell me anything about how they would sound. I don't know if its me or not, but I don't really think I am real happy with them.

What do yall use? Or what do ya suggest?

When I changed the strings out I set everything back exactly like it was when I got it. Bridge and all. I even took digital pics to make sure I did. But could I have done something else wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Chris

John Flynn
Feb-18-2005, 9:21pm
What exactly are you not happy about? That might help people give better advice on what the problem might be. One thing I would suggest right off is give it a few days. It sounds like you took all your strings off when you re-strung. Generally, mando players don't do that just to change strings. Mandos tend to not sound so good for a few days after they have had pressure off the top. If that is your only problem, the tone should improve over the next few days.