PDA

View Full Version : New A-9 tailpeice question.

Tmandomag
Jan-29-2005, 9:49pm
I'm kinda new her so bear with me please. I started playing mandolin last August and last week I got myself a new Gibson A-9. #I started on a Tacoma M1E and it is ok, but the A9 is so fine. #Anyway I'm changing the strings and see 12 hooks, four going sideways. The high strings are bending around them. I did'n like those extra bends so I put my new strings on the first eight hooks along the upper part. #I'm am just wonderen if it matters weather you use those extra hooks, it don't seem right to me, but what do I know. Oh yeah, what up with Gibson, it seems they could come up with a cover that didn't move or rattle. LOL. Well thanks for listen.

Tony

John Flynn
Jan-29-2005, 9:56pm
It shouldn't matter. That 12 hook thing is the traditional configuration of Gibson-style tailpieces. There may be some advantage to those extra hooks, but I have never figured it out. A lot of people don't use 'em. In over 10 years of having mandos with that kind of tailpiece, I have never used the extra hooks either. If some knows the reason for them, I'd love to hear it.

Crowder
Jan-29-2005, 9:58pm
For the unwound strings, you are supposed to hook teh loop on the hooks that point up (when you are playing the mandolin) and then bend them around the ones that point toward the endpin. You can get away with not doing it obviously. I think it's a carryover from an era when the loops on unwound strings would, well, unwind.

Tmandomag
Jan-30-2005, 1:43pm
Thanks guys. Ya really helped put my mind http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif at ease...

Tony

fatt-dad
Jan-30-2005, 3:42pm
I use them and figured that they helped those little "whippy" wires stay put. You know I put them through the extra bend and then when I'm connecting to the string post at the machine, it just doesn't fly off.

f-d

mandroid
Jan-30-2005, 4:38pm