PDA

View Full Version : More MK setup questions

GTG
Jan-26-2005, 1:12pm
Hello,

I have been talking with a friendly luthier-type person (the mando shop guy at Dusty Strings, Seattle; can't remember the name, but very nice and helpful) about getting some shop setup work done on my Michael Kelly F. The bridge is leaning too much, and he'll fix that, set it to the top, do a bit of work on the nut, etc.

I asked about going for the Allen tailpiece, and he said that a lot of bluegrassers are going "back" to the thinner stamped tailpieces, because the heavier ones (Allen, and others, cast metal, I think?) give better sustain, but less "pop". Any thoughts? I do like the idea of getting more sustain, but mostly want to squeeze more sound out of the mando. Yes, I know some of you are thinking fuggetit, save the cash and buy a 4-$digit mando instead, but I'm a student, and that isn't going to happen for years.

Thoughts?

-Dan

johnwalser
Jan-26-2005, 4:10pm
I have a MK Firefly Flame http://home.inreach.com/johnw/mk.html with Allen Tailpiece and Sullivan ebony bridge that is 20 months old. I have played dozens of "so called" high end instruments since (both new and used) and just haven't found anything with the combination of sustain and tone that is better than what I have. I use Thomastik-Infeld strings for the jazz I play so it probably wouldn't chop worth a hoot. If I am called upon to chop, I guess I'll take my banjolin along and give it a shot.
John

Stillpicking
Jan-26-2005, 4:45pm
I have 2 MKs an early model 'Butterfly" and I pickup a Legacy "O" early this year. The "butterfly"is more of a bluegrass instrument less sustain than the "O" but that is OK as I wanted the "O" for more old timey stuff and it works for that really well.

Here is what is on both:

replaced the original rosewood bridge with ebony, "butterfly has a Sullivan bridge and the "O" has a Cumberland radius bridge that matches the fret board radius.