PDA

View Full Version : hello newbie here

gremlin
Jan-25-2005, 6:06pm
Hello,
I am a newbie not only here but to the mandolin as well.I already play guitar and have been a metal guitarist for about 20 years so my hands are pretty fast(lol) and at this stage in my life now that I am too old for rock and rool as the kids say, im ready to get back to the music i remember my grandaddy playing . I hope I will pick up mandolin pretty quickly because I think a lot will transfer over (sweep picking, string skipping, arpeggios, hammer ons, trills and modal theory etc..) I already own a cheap "bean blossom" a-style mandolin. I am looking to upgrade my mandolin for a decent f-model and taking lessons. what is a good f-style mandolin that wont break the bank I am looking to spend about 400-600. For the money which is a better mando:a Kentucky, Epiphone, Dean, Fender, or Washburn? any help would be greatly appreciated.

Greenmando
Jan-25-2005, 6:35pm
Hi Jack, welcome to the bored.

With that large of a bank roll you might want to look into MK's also known as Michael Kelly. Pacific Rim made but probably the only fairly decent F-style in your budget. They retail for more but if you watch the Classifieds (http://www.mandolincafe.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.cgi)#and eBay something always shows up.

But you will get more bang for your dollars by purchasing a used A-style. Great deals on American made Flatiron flat-tops and Mid Mo's. Same sound and you do not really need the $2000 strap holder. Quite a few subjects just like this in the
Looking for information about mandolins (http://www.mandolincafe.net/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?act=SF;f=13) #section.

fatt-dad
Jan-25-2005, 9:00pm
Hi Jack, welcome to the bored.
Freudian slip - I mean are we so bored that we type?

f-d

Lane Pryce
Jan-26-2005, 7:53am