PDA

View Full Version : Sony Hi-MD Walkman for Mando Recording

John Flynn
Jan-22-2005, 10:10am
There was a thread some time ago asking about the new Sony Hi-MD recroders and none of the responders had any hands-on experience with the new format. Also, there seems to be interest in general on the board in devices for recording mando music. I just got one of the new Hi-MDs and I though I would follow up on that previous thread.

I have been a minidisc user for some time. I use it to record jams, lessons, practices and performances, as well as using it for portable music listening. My big disappointment was that it would not enable you to upload the music to a PC or covert the files. I initially got an iRiver H320 for Christmas, with the idea that it would be an upgrade, but returned it because I found it very user-unfriendly. I work in the computer industry and I am not technophobic, but I think you have to be a real techno person to get the most out of it. I then ordered the Sony MZ-NH1, the top of the line of the new Hi-MD recorders. I also got the ECM-MS907 single point stereo microphone.

I like the unit and I will keep it. Here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
> The unit is very small and lightweight.
> The "remote control" unit takes some getting used to, but once you learn it is pretty logical and easy to operate.
> The sound quality is so good, it's spooky. Night and day from my old mini-disc and cheap mike. I recorded a lesson with Curtis Buckhannon in his living room. During the recording, a door closed in his house. When I played it back, not only was his playing as close to studio quality as I can imagine from such a unit, but the door noise from his house was so real that I pulled off my headset because I thought a door had closed in my house! I have done a lot of field recording and I have never had that happen before.