PDA

View Full Version : electric mando

John Bertotti
Jan-21-2005, 9:25pm
I need a versatile option for the pickups and electronics, any suggestions? By versatile I'd like to be able to go from a simulated acoustic sound to a rocked out electric sound. Two maybe three pick ups, I'm thinking, wired for series or parallel. thanks John

delsbrother
Jan-21-2005, 9:52pm
I don't think three pickups is really needed. Hard to cram them into that space, for one thing. Maybe something like a Godin A8 or Ovation could do what you want? I've never tried to get my solidbody to sound "acoustic".

John Bertotti
Jan-21-2005, 10:35pm
I've been reading a lot about the different wiring designs. I am winding my own pickups and am considering a Les Paul wiring design with it rewired as stew mac suggests. I want to try different bleed off caps and possibly put in a switched cap set up. Who knows it will take a few experiments first. Fear not I am not an engineer but am a trained electrician and hold a small degree in electronics. thanks John

mandroid
Jan-21-2005, 10:59pm
if youre building a solid body electric, a variety of winding patterns and 'sounds' are available in Strat pickup format [fender lacesensor has 4] you could pack 3 of them in, each being 3/4" wide.. but not very acousticcy, ..
My favorite piezo >RMCpickup.com< offers several guitar bridge formats [strat/ wilkinson/ gibson tune-o-matic as examples and an acoustic single or double string pickup for self made bridges, flattop guitar installs.
will sell 4 0r 5 bits as each, 1/6th of 6pc pkg rate.
slider V,EQ preamp #BMT 220 is offered in mandolin EQ notches, thats what Godin uses, and another hybrid preamp/buffer for blending acoustic and coilmag pickups.
Hecho in Berkeley http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

gremlin
Jan-27-2005, 12:27pm