View Full Version : Good EBAY deal?
5string
Jan-05-2005, 2:29pm
What do you think of this??
item#5548538908 Gibson V Fern. lots of lookers but no bidders??
The LINK (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5548538908) http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif
jjboone101
Jan-05-2005, 2:51pm
those one day, low price auctions have scam written all over them....be careful.
The seller looks legit. But $1,200 with no reserve raises a flag. Maybe I'll bid and send a money order but an escroll is mandatory. I sent asked them some very straight foward questions. I hope to get a response.
Check out his previously sold items. T-shirts, a pair of sneakers, swim fins...
I saw that too, maybe it's stolen or they just plainly do not know what they have. But then you wonder how they got it.
Tim Conroy
Jan-05-2005, 4:07pm
I agree, this looks fishy. #My guess is someone got their Ebay ID hacked. #I work in San Luis Obispo, if anyone's serious about bidding tell them you'd like to have me take a look at it and see what they say. I'll bet it's suddenly been loaned to a friend out of the area. #
Check the category it's listed under; Dolls & Bears (?!)
Philip Halcomb
Jan-05-2005, 4:11pm
That's the exact description and picture for the V-Fern on Mass Street Music's website. Click on their link on the mandolincafe home page and look for the varnished fern. Looks like a scam to me. Thats a $7500 instrument...
siren_20
Jan-05-2005, 4:36pm
I'm in San Luis Obispo, too... would love to get a look at this thing if it's actually legit!
It's just too close to the one at Mass. Sent emails to the bidders.
evanreilly
Jan-05-2005, 5:00pm
And the ad does not say 'Varnished'... only an ambiguous 'V'...
And 'translucent' tuner buttons?http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif??
glauber
Jan-05-2005, 5:01pm
"The seller ended this listing early because the item is no longer available for sale."
J. Mark Lane
Jan-05-2005, 7:40pm
Uh, say, ...frets1... maybe you could share with us the meaning of your signature line? Inquiring minds etc.
Mark
It *)&!#s me off when people do this ####!! I sent the s#*! head an email and asked some questions about the mandolin. He replied with some less than intelligent comments. Then he ended the auction. His email address is: njpaisley@wi.rr.com # http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mad.gif
that is my email, I'll thank you to delete your post, I did not run the scam, I reported it to the bidders and emailed the seller.
Just got in, so I thought I'd edit this post a bit. I'll leave the Frets1 quote up so folks can know what I'm talking about, Ted has taken down the original post at my request.
I emailed both bidders, and also the thief to let him know that his bidders would be pulling out, most likely, after viewing the web page from Mass St Music.
Remember kids, when emailing a person of low moral character on Ebay, always check the "hide your email" button before you send it, otherwise your email address could be used against you. Like here, say.
I don't mean to beat a dead horse, but Frets1 just forwarded the email in question, and yes, I did send it. #he was a bidder, "ratsfrets", and this is what I emailed to him, I took out Randy's email address in the header, and the usual ebay disclaimer stuff:
----- Original Message ----- From: njpaisley@wi.rr.com To: rlinam@ #Sent: Wednesday, January 05, 2005 6:49 PMSubject: spam: Question from eBay Member
#
Dear ratsfrets1,
Well, golly, would ya look at this...http://www.massstreetmusic.com/show_indv.php?item=01966&img=1 Looks like that Fern yer bidding on, hmmm..
Please respond to the question on eBay by clicking the button below.
Thank you,
paisleynpaisley
There, now you have it, I'm guilty of letting Randy (Frets1), who was a bidder, know that the mandolin was at Mass St Music. #Randy, you're a blockhead, probably a nice blockhead, and probably not a blockhead in every situation, but in this one, you are. #You've sort of put a question mark in front of my reputation here on the board.
trebleclef528
Jan-10-2005, 1:16pm
Quote:What do you think of this??
item#5548538908 # Gibson V Fern. lots of lookers but no bidders??
This was yet another attempted scam using Gibson mandolins. Ebay seems to be awash with these just now so tread carefully ..... if it looks to good to be true it probably is!.I've posted a Fraud Alert on UK ebay about this underItem number: 3773815735 which hopefully you can seehere (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=3773815735&ssPageName=STRK:MESE:IT)
Best wishes from Scotland,
Ian