PDA

View Full Version : Room Humidifiers

NYClassical
Dec-18-2004, 3:49pm
I use dampits and case humidifiers for various instruments, but I also try to keep my studio at between 45 and 55% humidity. An NYC apartment in the winter can be a nightmare between radiators and the dry weather.
So I always humidify the room with regular household humidifiers (vaporizors, technically), but I think I'm ready to get one of those mammoth ones.

Anyone use a big room humidifier they can recommend? Thanks.

Mandobar
Dec-18-2004, 4:11pm
i got one at home depot that is rated for 2400 sq ft. i use it downstairs. i have a holmes floor model upstairs and there are no doors opening and closing. so far so good.

Flowerpot
Dec-18-2004, 4:12pm
I've been using one of the monster floor models for a few months now, and really like it. It's one of those multi-gallon per day output ones, if you need to go that high. They sell them at Sears, but we got this one at Tru Value Hardware (I think they're all made by Bemis). Works really well for our living room/kitchen/dining room, 1200 sq ft or so, with the fan on low. Actually, it's pretty effective for that half of the house, 1500 sq ft. We have some other room humidifiers for the bedrooms. It gets kind of noisy with the fan higher, but seems to keep up OK on low, as it keeps the main living area at 40% and cycles itself on and off regularly. It has a 2.5 gallon "jug" you can fill up in a tall bathtub, or it has a hose to put on a faucet. The actual reservior is more like 5 gallons, so sometimes it will keep running even though the jug is dry.

If I were shopping for one, I would pay attention to: noise level, ease of refill, ease of cleaning, refill tank size.

Django Fret
Dec-18-2004, 8:17pm