View Full Version : Eastman on E-Bay
JiminRussia
Dec-04-2004, 4:57pm
There is an Eastman 515 on E-Bay right now. The description is (to put it kindly) somewhat over the top. But then again, what should you expect from "Banjobarn"? I don't supose that the MSRP of a 515 has gone up to over $1,900, but anything is possible. The rest of the detaills are not qite as blatant as that, but I don't think that VINTAGE LOOKING GIBSON ,F STYLE MANDOLIN EASTMAN 515 is anything other than misleading. Why doesn't Gibson turn their corporate Lawyers loose on Ebay rip off artists and give us a break on the flower pot logo, F-5 style, copyright thing.
Gee, I hope that Banjobarn isn't a dealer. I was hoping that the likes of Rev Ted W. were gone for good.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws....MEWA:IT (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=3766888510&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT)
Greenmando
Dec-04-2004, 6:15pm
If ebay sees that reference to Gibson in the title they will end the auction. They do not allow name dropping in the title anymore.
ShaneJ
Dec-04-2004, 6:23pm
Maybe avoiding that kind of BS is part of Gibson's reasoning for it's recent internet marketing restrictions??? If the 515 can retail for $1,950 and have a 6 month "and growing" waiting list, I'd think Gordon and the Eastman folks could stand to be a little more choosy when it comes to their dealers as well. I'm not laying ANY of the blame for this person's inflated claims on Gordon or Eastman, mind you. I'm sure they would be embarrassed by it.
JiminRussia
Dec-04-2004, 8:25pm
SJ, I believe that you are right. I don't know eastmangordon (at least not in the Biblical sense), but he seems like a prety much stand up kind of person, judging by his postigs here, and I hope that he sees that E-Bay item and at least contacts the seller. I would hesitate to do this myself. It is not really something that I would feel comfortable doing, not being affiliated with either Gibson or Eastman.
Stephen Perry
Dec-05-2004, 8:10am
I don't think banjobarn is a dealer. This mandolin is likely used. And list is $1050 for these. It looks familiar, wonder if I sold it initially. The 6 month waiting list is a bit odd, too. I just got and sold one, but it didn't take me 6 months to get it!!!!
flairbzzt
Dec-05-2004, 10:33am
If you go to the location below, you can read about Banjobarn (their ebay store) or The Anderson Exchange-their store in La Follette, Tn. I have dealt with them personally and they are very responsive; I recall someone in a previous thread commenting on how ebay is just another venue in which to sell. I believe Tim and Tonya Anderson's approach to ebay sales gives a different impression than what dealing directly with them is like.
As for Eastman, they are a new dealer and I can only imagine their discount from list is not as low as some established dealers. I would think as a new dealer for any vendor, you have to show you can move inventory to earn a deeper discount. And there are several type-o's in their ads- don't know if the list price quoted could be one of those....
members.ebay.com/aboutme/banjobarn
flairbzzt
Dec-05-2004, 12:42pm
The ad has been changed and is now a "buy it now" item @ $850.
Stephen Perry
Dec-06-2004, 5:02am
The list is the list for Eastman, no earning discounts through being a big dealer. Eastman really treats small dealers very well. I remember when they had just a few photocopied sheets stapled together as a catalog.
The original stated list of $1950 might have been a typo for $1050. Eastman's MAP is 80% of list, so $840 is MAP. This is a good deal for someone.
I'll have to stop by The Anderson Exchange next time I'm up that way. I like to go to Cumberland Gap and La Follette is on the way from here.
dgrimm
Dec-06-2004, 6:33am
Is this a good deal?
Steve did you sell this one , the ad says "New" with a Certificate of Authenticity.
http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif
Bill Snyder
Dec-06-2004, 7:42am
This now comes up as an invalid item on ebay. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif
dgrimm
Dec-06-2004, 9:03am
It was relisted (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=3767472484&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT) and someone already got it.
Snooze, you loose.
http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/coffee.gif
grandmainger
Dec-06-2004, 9:19am
I don't think banjobarn is a dealer.
Actually, they are:
http://www.banjobarn.com/
though they may not be an official Eastman dealer.
They are actually really good. I got my MM from them, super fast delivery to the UK, good packaging, and very cheap insured shipping ($24!!!). Someone else here ordered one from them too, got one that was not up to scratch, they exchanged it no questions asked.
As for this particular listing, I don't know, mmaybe a trade-in?
Stephen Perry
Dec-06-2004, 9:28am
I meant Eastman dealer. I don't recall selling no. 7, but who knows. I've sold a bunch. I don't even know the numbers of the ones here now. I know I had 515 no. 1 & no. 2. Probably didn't have no. 7.
flairbzzt
Dec-06-2004, 3:38pm
They are a newer Eastman dealer. #I guess I can tell you all how it happened. I had ordered and purchased a Morgan Monroe mms-6 (satin finish) from them. I received it and noticed a blister about 3/8" round in the finish on the back of the scroll. #I was worried it would eventually crack and peel so I let them know and they gave me no problem returning it-they sent a call tag to pick it up the next day. In checking with MM, it was determined that there were no more available because it was a limited run and was not being made anymore. After checking other dealers for me, the couldn't find one. I asked them about finding me an Eastman instead. They still had my money and had treated me very well so I saw no harm in this. Eastman was just being talked up on the cafe and Tim and Tonya Anderson were not familiar with the brand. I provided Gordon with their contact info and provided them with his contact info. They got together and became new Eastman dealers. They placed their first order which included a 615 classic for me amongst other stock. #After a shipping #delay from Eastman, the mandos came in. Tim Anderson was very gracious throughout the entire transaction and sold me the 615 at his cost for all of my patience and help in hooking them up with Eastman. #Like Germaine said, they are very responsive and follow through on their word. #They also have a very good luthier who did a great setup on the Eastman for me and is now working on an MK for me.
# I cannot speak to their advertising; I can simply tell you of my dealings with them. #I apologize for being so long winded, but I didn't want this to become a FOTW type bashing. IMHO, Tim and Tonya Anderson deserve better than that.
BTW, I have recently purchased an Eastman 615 from Steve Perry (Gianna Violins) and am working with him on other items. He is also extremely responsive and a great guy to do business with. I've also gotten terrific customer service from Greg Boyd in Montana.
JiminRussia
Dec-06-2004, 5:29pm
Quite frankly I'm glad to hear that I was a little hasty in pouding banjobarn for his posting. It appears that it was a case of unawareness o the facts rather than larceny. I can't reqally condone ether of them, but one is funny and something to laugh at and the other isn't funny at all and should be taken seriously. I had some really serious doubts about that posting and I still believe that it was done in error. I am glad to see that the error was corected and to hear that this is a legitimate business, not a scam.
Rob Powell
Dec-07-2004, 11:52am
I've also purchased from Banjo Barn and while their "marketing" on ebay might seem a little heavy handed at times, they were wonderful to work with...just seem like honest, upstanding folks and certainly concerned about their customers.
dgrimm
Dec-17-2004, 9:32pm
I purchased the Eastman 515 from Banjobarn on eBay.
What can I say but WOW !!! Great wood !!!
Incredibly TONE OUT OF THE BOX !! And it hasn't even opened up yet.
Added bonus a set of G***** Bill Monroe strings.
jim bevins
Dec-18-2004, 3:28am
Glad to hear you like it! What serial no.? Truly a magnificent instrument aren't they? I have 515 serial no.1. I thought about trading it at one time,but no way!
dgrimm
Dec-18-2004, 8:09am
I've got serial # 7