PDA

View Full Version : Second Chance Ebay



mikeh
Nov-21-2004, 3:37pm
Don't know if this scam has been discussed before but it's my first exposure to it. Checked my email tonight, and I am being offered a "second chance" on a Gibson F9 that I bid on a week or two ago. It was an official ebay response mail so at first I thought nothing of it. Says they will sell me the brand new F9 for my bid of $1,300 because the winner didn't follow through, but repeat three times that I am not to respond to this email via the ebay respond command, but rather it is important that I email them at a different address to arrange payment. I went back to the original closed auction by "Nashusedmusic", they have over 700 feedbacks and look extremely legit. I emailed them to verify but am waiting response, but I am sure it is not from them. The person offering me the "second chance" goes by VAVE6565 has 1 feedback for a "GIPSON" guitar that they bought for $10 and is located in Singapore, the email originated from VAVE54@esife.org. They want me to email them at doughter01@aol.com instead of reply through ebay. CAVEAT EMPTOR my fellow mandolin afficianados http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

jjboone101
Nov-21-2004, 3:56pm
Yeah, i got the same "second chance" on a Gibson F5 for only $1750. Report them to EBay, as I did.

2 strings
Nov-21-2004, 6:01pm
Yea, Same here with a Yellowstone. I reported them and Ebay thanked me. Good luck

AeroJoe
Nov-21-2004, 9:36pm
They're having the same problem, same individual directing and offering "second chances" to "doughter01@aol.co" on The B***O Hangout"...

mikeh
Nov-22-2004, 7:14am
Reported to ebay today after speaking with the original seller. The scammer did reply, says I can view all the pics I need on the closed auction listing, and if I would just forward some personal information they would be happy to get the transaction started! UNBELIEVABLE!! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/laugh.gif

Scotti Adams
Nov-22-2004, 7:36am
..I had a doctor from Russia call me this morning at 4am wanting to buy a set of Grover tuners....it was a relay call set up by AT&T..the operator was the go between...I hung up the first time..and I be dang if he didnt call back...I dont even have any Grover tuners for sale..

sunburst
Nov-22-2004, 8:00am
I just got a "second chance" offer through ebay. The emial is from ebay and says the high bidder's transaction fell through for one reason or another and I was the second high bidder.
It says I "will be eligible for all eBay services associated with a transaction".
I didn't get any personal contact info from the seller, and wasn't asked for any personal contact info.
Like I said, this is all through ebay and looks legitimate. I just wonder if the high bidder was the guy down the block from the seller just pushing the sale price up to my max bid.

Anyway, I've got a couple of days to think about it, and I feel free to decline the offer since I wasn't the actual high bidder.

Scotti Adams
Nov-22-2004, 8:01am
Mike...it seems this was legit..I just so happen have AOL with Instant Messager...I was able to catch Doughter1 on line...although they didnt tell me who they were they did say that the F9 had been sold....who ever it was seemed pretty straight forward and apologized for any problems.

Rob Powell
Nov-22-2004, 8:15am
I got one of these on a Bruce Taggert mandolin awhile back. It was no reserve and it started at like 10 bucks so I bid 50 bucks. I didn't know anything about Taggert but later realized there was NO way this was not going to get bid up way beyond my threshold. So I never bid again. I got a second chance offer and had several emails back and forth but basically told the "seller" I was astonished that he would offer me the mandolin for 50 dollars. He wrote back and said 300 would take it...did a bit more investigating and told him I wouldn't want to insult him by offering so low on such a fine mandolin...

Never heard back again http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif

mikeh
Nov-23-2004, 7:55am
Scotti,
I have been in contact with the original poster of the auction for the past two days, he definitely is not doughter01@aol.com, he definitely did not send me the second chance, and is also reporting to ebay for scamming his auction. The persons ebay ID is from singapore. I forgot to mention that they also in the same original email about the F9 mentioned a bass that they could offer me a second chance on.I never bid on the bass and I supect they forgot to take one line of "bass" reference out and replace it with "mandolin" on the form email they are sending out to scam others. These are auction hijackers looking for someone not paying attention. No doubt their aol account is real, but every other facet of this interaction is fake and meant to rip people off! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mad.gif #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mad.gif # Did the peson email you have slightly broken english/verbage?