View Full Version : Is This Scam?
JiminRussia
Sep-28-2004, 10:03am
Let me see here, Item located outside the U.S., seller with 0 feedback, wants the money by wire transfer through a third party that I have never heard of (TNT). What's your take on this EBay item? view it here http://cgi.ebay.com/ws....MEWA:IT (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=3751129911&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT) I don't want to rain on anyones parade, but it does give me reason to wonder..................
I aske the seller about a buy it now price and got this response:
hello,
The buy it now price will be £650.00.I will pay for the shipping.
Here is how I want to go about delivery and payment for the item which will be through TNT and will also give you the chance to inspect the item before I receive the payment for it.
I will explain to you step by step how this will work.
A. First you have to send me your shipping information (your name and address).
1. After I receive your shipping info, I'll go to a TNT Location and leave the item in to your name and with your address as the intended receiver.
2. TNT will check the item, also the legal papers to see that everything is OK with it.
B. You will receive a notification from TNT as a confirmation that the item is in their custody and also, that the item has been tested.
1. After that, you will have to make a money transfer via Western Union on my name, as a guarantee, and send the payment information to TNT.
&nbs p; 2. TNT will verify the Money Transfer, and if everything is in order, they will deliver the item to your door step.
3. After you will receive the item and you will be completely satisfied with it, you will instruct TNT to release the payment information to me, so I can collect my money.
C. If by any reason, you will not be satisfied with the item, you will return the item to TNT with no expense.
I will pay for shipping and you for the amount transfer.
Let me know if we can do this
Regards,
b.pat
Sep-28-2004, 11:08am
Not in a million years! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif
B.Pat
natep
Sep-28-2004, 11:13am
There's another thread about your exact question on this board somewhere. I read it recently and to sum up:
Yes! if seller insists on wire transfer for payment, its a scam!
How do you know?
1. wire transfer
2. new ebay account
3. absurdly low price for item
Look around for the other thread for more details.
mandoJeremy
Sep-28-2004, 12:25pm
Yeah and I can't place it just yet but I have seen that picture of the F-12 somewhere else. Let me think on it.
JD Cowles
Sep-28-2004, 1:43pm
"Serial number is A1-6557."
that should be a dead giveaway right? #that doesn't look like a gibson serial# to me...
JiminRussia
Sep-28-2004, 1:45pm
Well, shall we bait him a little bit or just forget that he's there?
mad dawg
Sep-28-2004, 2:57pm
I emailed him, telling him that I'm interested, but that I would prefer to use my own escrow service. His reply:
"I understand that you are affraid so am i.I suggest we to use TNT service.It is an escrow service too"
(Kind of shaky grammer for gentleman from the UK with the name of Brian Stein, huh? http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif )
Here (http://largeformatphotography.info/lfforum/topic/499300.html) is a thread from a photography discussion board, describing similar cases of fraud with the same MO.
Keith Miller
Sep-28-2004, 7:36pm
there are an lot of ebay vintage saxophone scams coming out of the UK at the moment, this seems to match quite a few of them, I wouldn't touch this with a barge pole
Keith
saznpins
Sep-29-2004, 7:44am
I asked if I could arrange for my cousin to see it since the seller is in London and this is what he replied with:
"Hello,
i would be verry happy to meet you but the problem is that the mandolin is allready at the TNT office.It is packed and ready for shipping.TNT is an esrow service .I used it few times and i am satisfaied about it
Thanks"
Hm, definitely one to avoid I would say! Has anyone heard of TNT? The only escrow I will use is escrow.com.
JiminRussia
Sep-29-2004, 8:07am
I asked about the same question and, SURPRISE!!!! Look what I got back,
"Hello,
I would be glad to meet your friend but the mandolin is allready packed at the TNT .It is ready for shipping.TNT is an escrow service .They are verry fast and good.
Thanks"
Hmmmm......Already packed to send where I wonder?
Jim Garber
Sep-29-2004, 9:19am
Well at least there is such a courier as TNT (http://www.tnt.com/country/en_gb.html). I can't imagine any shipping service that would hold a pkg there without an address. Very suspect.
Jim (not in Russia)
Davetnova
Sep-30-2004, 3:04am
TNT is a respected carrier/shipping service here in the UK. They are NOT an escrow service nor would they accept a consignment without a delivery adress. I have dealt with them . This is definately a scam.
TommyK
Sep-30-2004, 10:50am
Where do I begin....
"...2. TNT will check the item,..."
"...B. You will receive a notification from TNT ///item has been tested."
I'm glad to know TNT (an alleged escrow service) knows so much about mandolins....
Here's where his story goes south (or east)
# #1. After that, you will have to make a money transfer via Western Union on my name, as a guarantee, and send the payment information to TNT.
&nbs p; # 2. TNT will verify the Money Transfer, and if everything is in order, they will deliver the item to your door step.
# # 3. After you will receive the item and you will be completely satisfied with it, you will instruct TNT to release the payment information to me, so I can collect my money.
In 2, he speaks the truth. He has his money they deliver the goods. This is their only job.
In 1, you have already released the money to him. In 3, TNT could care less as they have no control over Western Union.
C. If by any reason, you will not be satisfied with the item, you will return the item to TNT with no expense.
YEah, Fat Chance!
This guy just begs to be outed!
mad dawg
Sep-30-2004, 12:00pm
I reported the auction to eBay SafeHarbour, but I am still having some fun with this guy. Here is my last email to him; I'll post his reply if it is entertaining enough:
"I think I am ready to bid Brian, but I have one more question. I can't tell from the photo who signed the mandolin; was it Lloyd Loar?"
mad dawg
Oct-01-2004, 8:45am
Someone needs to jump on this exceptionally rare 1960's era F-12 signed by the late Mr. Loar himself, as I just received this confirmation from the seller:
"Hello,
Yes it is signed by Lloyd Loar
thanks"
grandmainger
Oct-01-2004, 8:51am
Someone needs to jump on this exceptionally rare 1960's era F-12 signed by the late Mr. Loar himself, as I just received this confirmation from the seller:
"Hello,
Yes it is signed by Lloyd Loar
thanks"
I'd happily bait him a bit, but I'm already busy with a couple of Nigerian 419-ers http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/laugh.gif
Bill Snyder
Oct-02-2004, 9:07pm
So, which one of you guys is Mason McDaniel?
Keith Miller
Oct-03-2004, 3:55am
and is Mason any relation to JimMacD ? £2050 now
Bill Snyder
Oct-03-2004, 8:27am
Auction cancelled.
Jim Garber
Oct-13-2004, 9:08pm
Here (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=10179&item=3754893507&rd=1) is what looks like another one. I found the exact description and photos at Mass Street Music (http://www.massstreetmusic.com/mandos.php).
I contacted Mass Street to let them know. The Buy It Now was a give-away. Strange.
Jim
Darren Kern
Oct-13-2004, 10:06pm
This is very common with all types of items. I am a member of a Kawasaki Vulcan Riders motorcycle forum, and we will run across a "like new with low miles" bike that sells new for $12k or so, and they are asking $5k but want you to use their escrow, they are out of country but it is in NY, etc. As soon as you report them, the auction is removed.
saznpins
Oct-14-2004, 7:58am
Hey Hydrilla,
I'm VROC 11159, I ride an 800 Classic. And play the mandolin of course! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif Mando bikers unite!
Cheers,
Sarah