PDA

View Full Version : Beware!



b.pat
Sep-06-2004, 9:09am
Is it just me, or are listings like this becoming more and more common?


# # # # # # # # # # # # # #Fishy (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=623&item=3746838793&rd=1)

B.Pat

mandorado
Sep-06-2004, 9:10am
Link's not working.

b.pat
Sep-06-2004, 9:14am
Sorry , try it now.
Pat

grandmainger
Sep-06-2004, 9:24am
Mmm. It's a bit bizarre I agree, as he's listing in Australian $, and has until now only bought/sold small/cheap items. But is it a scam? Not too sure. Has he offered you some fishy deal?

If anything, I'd be more worried about this one... (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=10179&item=3746524356&rd=1)

grandmainger
Sep-06-2004, 9:54am
Well, I've been proved too trusting and good natured... Here's the reply to my enquiry about collecting the mandolin off him:


The item is in Romania.
If you are willing to come here your self, it would be no problem.
The buy now price 999 USD.
Let me know if interested.

So as Pat said: BEWAREhttp://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mad.gif

b.pat
Sep-06-2004, 10:15am
Bet you a new set of strings that this is the same clown that had this F-4 last week #see associated thread (http://www.mandolincafe.net/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=12;t=17997)
E-bay pulled that one, but it sure didn't take him long to reappear.
I'll shut up now #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mad.gif
# # # # # # # B.Pat
Just a follow up: E-bay has pulled this listing too.

Bill Snyder
Sep-07-2004, 3:13pm
grandmainger
I contacted the seller about the Krishott F5 and asked for close-ups of the peghead, the front and the back and he emailed them to me. It is possible he harvested the shots from somewhere else, but the sizes of the pictures he sent was larger than you would expect to find on someone's website.
I see that he still has not had any bids (as of late Tues. afternoon).

Lee
Sep-07-2004, 3:24pm
Tue. 6:20PM East Coast time and the add is no longer valid.

grandmainger
Sep-07-2004, 3:43pm
Yeah... As I posted, the mandolin is "in Romania"... As if... I seem to recall an earlier scam where the mando was also in Romania... not very inventive all this...

I reckon we should get deputised as eBay police!