PDA

View Full Version : Another Ebay scam?



neal
Aug-28-2004, 4:13pm
Here's (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5516424986&fromMakeTrack=true) another one. #Hasn't answered any emails, doesn't show a pic but says it's a snakehead. #Pretty obvious. #

I think someone else posted this, but I couldn't find it, ah well..

steve95018
Aug-28-2004, 4:26pm
This same guy was "selling" an F Flatiron last week. #When I sent him some questions he responded with an offer for me to purchase it for $1255. #He wanted a Western Union wire transfer (the big scam these days). #I proposed using an escrow company and that was the last I heard from him.

You know, this one really bothered me, because the description was semi-plausible and I'm sure someone could be taken in by the whole thing.

I reported it to Ebay and pointed out that he now has the "A" model listed along with a new userid. #They, of course, have done nothing to remove the listing.

I hope no one gets taken in by this. #By allowing "private" auctions where the bidders are anonymous, ebay effectively keeps the unsuspecting from being warned off on a transaction like this. #Perhaps they have some responsibility too...?

JiminRussia
Aug-28-2004, 4:30pm
Well no, not really "pretty obvious". You may be jumping to a conclusion in calling this one a fraud. His photography my be a bit lacking and I don't know why you may not have received a response to your Emails. That would make me a little suspicious too, but I don't know that I'd go so far as to label this a fraud from just that evidence.

JiminRussia
Aug-28-2004, 4:33pm
Very interesting Steve. Maybe I'm just too rtusting. That might be why I'm still poor after all these years! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

FrankenMouse
Aug-28-2004, 4:40pm
The text of the ad is very familiar; I'm sure I've read it before. Lots of other warning signs, too.

Just for fun, I've written to the seller asking about payment terms. My bet is that he will write back in broken English (not matching the ad's text), insisting on payment by Western Union.

I've also told him that I could have a friend pick it up in Newcastle. My bet: he'll come up with some reason why this can't be done.

This will confirm this ad's status as a SCAM.

neal
Aug-28-2004, 4:47pm
Check out his listing category. #It's not musical instruments http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/laugh.gif #This person's shy a few bricks.

And I still think it's a scam. # Telltale signs:

1. New user- in and of itself, no problem, but...
2. No feedback" # # #" # # # # # " # # # # # # #" # #"...
3. Foreign country- #" # # " #" # # " # #" # #" # # "... # # # # # # # # # # #
4. Private bid- #This has always made me uneasy
5. One lousy pic- looks lifted to me, grainy, not clear, no headstock shot, well, c'mon..
6. #No communication, or offers to stop auction for wire transfer.

I emailed 3 times in the last few days, nothing.

I'm sure there are more signs. #Just be aware.

mad dawg
Aug-28-2004, 5:01pm
This seller is also selling a pair of binoculars, which does not look very suspicious, IMHO: link (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=1304&item=5516426409) http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif

pickinNgrinnin
Aug-28-2004, 10:27pm
This joker is as crooked as a dog's back leg.

Check this out: http://www.mandolincafe.net/cgi-bin....t=17701 (http://www.mandolincafe.net/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=12;t=17701)

Maybe a $50,000 bid would be appropriate here. I'm surprised Dale is not on this one already!

pickinNgrinnin
Aug-28-2004, 10:31pm
On the binoc sale, the seller has 0 feedback and the current bidder also has 0 feedback. Perhaps a partner in crime pumping up the bids. I say buyer beware with this dude

neal
Aug-29-2004, 6:55am
Yep, the binoculars look legit, but if he could take a pic of the binoculars so well, what happened to the mandolin? Scam.

racuda
Aug-29-2004, 7:40am
It is in the Mandolin Archive here (http://www.mandolinarchive.com/perl/show_mando.pl?2449), listed by Gryphon Strings. If you ask the seller where he got the mando and he says Gryphon would that lend credibility?

Bill Snyder
Aug-29-2004, 3:29pm
I emailed the lister and he responded with four additional pictures of the mandolin. His message was short, but his english was fine.

Tom C
Aug-29-2004, 4:08pm
Ask him for a pic of him with the mandolin. -And maybe newspaper with the date.

neal
Aug-29-2004, 4:44pm
Curious, his english was ok, but yours needs work. #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

He just sent me some pics, too. way too small.

FrankenMouse
Aug-29-2004, 5:25pm
He hasn't written back to me. Call me cynical, but I suspect it's because I told him I could have a friend pick the mandolin up.

steve95018
Aug-29-2004, 8:47pm
Okay, I have to add this to my early post on this guy. #When I asked him why he was selling the Flatiron "F" he said to buy a rare mandolin. #3 emails later after asking him in each what mandolin he purchased he indicated the snakehead A.

I discontinued my correspondence with him and he then established a new userid and listed the "A" at the same price he tried to sell me the flatiron for.

There is no question this is a scam.