View Full Version : Fishy Listing?
Looks a little fishy to me.....do your homework before sending $$$ # #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif
Collings MF on Ebay (http://cgi.aol.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=10179&item=3744918093&rd=1)
As I thought.....pure scam listing. Below is a link to the real one & the auction hasn't even ended yet!
Real Collings on Ebay (http://cgi.aol.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=3744075624&ssPageName=STRK:MEBI:IT)
I sent him a little message.......I think I'll bid on it... #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif
************************************************** **********
This is a pure Scam & copied photos from another auction that is still running!
SCAMMER!!!!!
It's fixing to bring $25,000 & your gonna be stuck with the seller fees............
If anyone else wants to put on their white hat & bid, feel free. This is old hat to a few of the Cafe veterans!
FrankenMouse
Aug-27-2004, 4:43pm
A $25,000 bid on an item with a $4,000 Buy It Now. Love it!!
I've reported the auction to eBay, but thanks to Dale nobody's going to be taken anyway. Good work!
Bill Snyder
Aug-27-2004, 4:55pm
Right now they have cancelled Dale's bid and it is back to a starting bid of $100.00.
Professor PT
Aug-27-2004, 4:55pm
Man, to list that at the same time as the real auction takes a lot of guts--or stupidity. Well, I think more of the latter.
Thanks Michael! #I just love giving scammers a boot in the rear.....
He cancelled my bids?.....the lowlife! It sure didn't take him long. #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif
Bill Snyder
Aug-27-2004, 5:01pm
The following has been added to the listing:
Note: This listing is restricted to pre-approved bidders or buyers only.
Email the seller to be placed on the pre-approved bidder/buyer list.
I sent him a link to this thread...maybe he will post! #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif
Here is his email address if anyone would like to drop him a line. caricelus@aol.com
mandorado
Aug-27-2004, 5:35pm
Wish those of us who have decent mandos for sale on ebay got as much attention as these scammers do ... maybe we wouldn't have to wait around for so long to sell a decent instrument -- at a decent price.
FrankenMouse
Aug-27-2004, 6:23pm
In his bogus auction, the seller says he'll take PayPal. Most unusual for a fraud, so I wrote to him pretending to be interested. I asked how he'd like to be paid. I just knew he wouldn't really go for PayPal and would come up with some excuse to demand a wire transfer.
His response just arrived. Here it is:
Thank you for your interest. Due to the fact that I am in France right now, I would prefer money transfer and I offer paying for the shipping costs.
As return policy I give 3 days after receiving to make up your mind about kipping it or not. In case you don't want it, you ship it back to me.
Best regards
Bill Snyder
Aug-27-2004, 8:48pm
The listing has been pulled.
This latest bunch of scammers runs when they feel a little heat. Thanks for the help folks!
HA HA. I got him. Last night I found him online and IM'd and asked about the mandolin and offered 3500 if he would pull the auction. He said ok. So I told him I would mail him a money order. He said no only money wire transfer. I then told him sorry no wire transfer. Then he asked why? I said because I am a Ebay Customer service agent and this was a scam and we were going to presss federal charges if he didnt pull it.. HA HA. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif
pickinNgrinnin
Aug-28-2004, 10:34pm
HAAA! Nice work Mav!
mandocaster
Aug-29-2004, 10:22am
Do Ebay Customer service agents have a shiney badge and a decoder ring?