PDA

View Full Version : Another Ebay Scam?



mandoJeremy
Aug-20-2004, 11:53pm
Check this one out. His words, "I shot the photos on a slightly overcast day so as not to capture reflections, and I may add some others." There are NO pictures and I think it is someone that has copied someone else's listing. New user and no feedback. Makes one wonder doesn't it?

Ebay (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=1304&item=5515264783&rd=1)

FrankenMouse
Aug-21-2004, 1:53am
Yep, clearly a scam. And not a very clever one.

grandmainger
Aug-21-2004, 2:05am
Well... I may bid... if I win, I'll go to Newcastle to check it out and pay cash on collection... Train ride from London is only $50... Woulod make a good day out! I'll kee you posted http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif

bmac
Aug-21-2004, 7:14am
For a beginning price of $600 the seller should have made sure he had quality photos (or even bad photos). I wouldn't be willing to risk that kind of money while relying only on a strangers' word from half a world away.

If as described it is too bad the seller didn't take the trouble to make sure he had quality photos, or any photos.

I've never sold anything on eBay but I would assume there is a way to cancel the auction if the photos don't come up.

mikeh
Aug-21-2004, 10:19am
I emailed this joker about this Carlson Flatiron. He fired back what seemed to be a very anxious email to me that For a mere $1,600 wired to him pronto he would sell me the instrument. He did send me more pics on an email, but was very antsy to have me wire the money to a generalized account somewhere over there in Britain, then email him the password so he could extract the money from the account then he would get right on the task of sending me the instrument. Who ever heard of a Carlson Flatiron that someone would let go for $1,600 bucks? Very suspicious http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif

FrankenMouse
Aug-21-2004, 1:07pm
I wrote to the seller too, just for a laugh. He sent some photos and (as predicted) demanded payment by wire transfer. Further, he neglected to answer any of my questions regarding the mandolin. It's just money money money. 100% certified scam.

grandmainger
Aug-21-2004, 2:38pm
I emailed him, asking for photos and offering to go over to Newcastle to collect it. No responses yet... http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif

Martin Jonas
Aug-21-2004, 5:26pm
I emailed him, asking for photos and offering to go over to Newcastle to collect it. #No responses yet... http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif
I did the same -- also no response yet.

Martin

grandmainger
Aug-25-2004, 7:53am
Doesn't matter anymore ! He's been suspended http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

pickinNgrinnin
Aug-25-2004, 10:14pm
Well...it looks like he's back.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws....86&rd=1 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=1304&item=5516424986&rd=1)

The same guy right? Committed to his craft.

Keith Newell
Aug-25-2004, 11:46pm
I just emailed him asking for some other pictures. Lets see what he says and what he sends.