PDA

View Full Version : Arches Website Attacked?



CelticDude
Jul-19-2009, 3:46pm
Hello all,

I've been trying all day to get to the Arches Website, including from the link here on the Mando Cafe. Each time I am warned about a virus trying to load itself, so I "aborted" the connection. Has anyone else found this?

DWP

Keith Erickson
Jul-19-2009, 4:36pm
Hello all,

I've been trying all day to get to the Arches Website, including from the link here on the Mando Cafe. Each time I am warned about a virus trying to load itself, so I "aborted" the connection. Has anyone else found this?

DWP


:confused: Not sure what the problem is.....

I logged on here: http://www.archesmusic.com/ without any issue.

It looks to be that the Arches website is very much alive and well. ....at least from my PC.

man dough nollij
Jul-19-2009, 4:43pm
I went there okay, but it was grabbing content from some spooky sites, including microsotf.cn. Didn't like the look of that, and I had to kill my browser.

NuGrass
Jul-19-2009, 5:45pm
I just tried too and Windows Live One had to clean the Trojan virus. I guess Dennis in Arizona is carrying Arches now.

Mike Bromley
Jul-19-2009, 5:49pm
It's going directly to a .cn URL....uh-uh!

Bill Snyder
Jul-19-2009, 5:54pm
I just went there with no problems and my AVG antivirus software shows the site to be safe. No redirect or anything.

Jim Broyles
Jul-19-2009, 5:56pm
I went with no attacks, but it froze up my computer.

Jill McAuley
Jul-19-2009, 6:36pm
I tried and got a warning that the site contained malware and recommended not proceeding, so that's exactly what I did! Weird..

Cheers,
Jill

CelticDude
Jul-19-2009, 6:56pm
Okay, so it isn't just me and my free antivirus software (I use Avast). Not sure what it was doing; at some point I got a message about Adobe?? In any case, every try leads to a warning about a Trojan horse.

DWP

MikeEdgerton
Jul-19-2009, 8:04pm
The site has been compromised, please don't go there.
I just PM'd Chris Baird about it.

Scott Tichenor
Jul-19-2009, 9:30pm
Mike speaks the truth! This is a very, very nasty compromise and you really don't want to visit the site. I've removed the link to his site that appears throughout the forum. I run up-to-date virus protection and it sent that software into overtime once I hit his site. Ouch.

Ivan Kelsall
Jul-20-2009, 1:17am
I just tried it & it was taking such a while to log onto the site,that i killed my search. There's something not quite right here. Also,i used Google to try to access the site & got an 'unsafe' site warning from AVG,
Ivan :confused:

Chris Baird
Jul-20-2009, 11:38am
Hi All,

Sorry about the issue. I'm working to resolve it ASAP. In the meantime I've pulled the site.

MikeEdgerton
Jul-20-2009, 12:10pm
For those of you that visited this site and found no issues or got no message, upgrade your anti-virus software and do a complete scan. Some of the free anti-virus software packages including some mentioned here may or may not recognize or clean the infection.

steve V. johnson
Jul-20-2009, 4:13pm
Chris,

Comiserations on this problem! I hope you can get it all cleaned up completely, quickly and smoothly.

All the best,

stv

Chris Baird
Jul-21-2009, 10:19am
Hi All,

The archesmusic.com website has been cleaned and is back up. I apologize for the trouble.

steve V. johnson
Jul-21-2009, 10:33am
Hey, great news! Congrats on a quick clean-up!

Hooray!

stv

MikeEdgerton
Jul-21-2009, 11:52am
For Chris or anyone else maintaining a site, keeping a copy of your index file with a different name is good practice. When these sites are compromised it's generally the index.whatever files that get hit. If you've got that file stored with another name on it your usually good to go quickly. Glad to see you're back online.