PDA

View Full Version : Virus at gibson?



DaveNB
Mar-20-2008, 1:35pm
I just went to the Gibson site to look at something up and I got a warning about a trojan horse virus Exploit-MS06-014.

I can't email Gibson as I am at work and everything gets blocked when I go to their site. Perhaps someone else here has their address?

Sorry if this is the wrong part of the message board.

pickloser
Mar-20-2008, 1:44pm
I got the same message when I was looking up and Epiphone there.

MikeEdgerton
Mar-20-2008, 1:49pm
www.gibson.com does indeed have the virus, I contacted their web person via telephone. I would stay away from the site if you do not have an up to date and robust anti-virus program installed.

mandopete
Mar-20-2008, 2:40pm
And be sure to wear your gas mask when playin' yer F-5!

TeleMark
Mar-20-2008, 2:56pm
www.gibson.com does indeed have the virus, I contacted their web person via telephone. I would stay away from the site if you do not have an up to date and robust anti-virus program installed.
Or a Mac...

http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/coffee.gif

danb
Mar-20-2008, 3:33pm
eek, that's quite a miss

lovethemf5s
Mar-20-2008, 3:36pm
It was obviously started by a Gibson basher! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mad.gif

MikeEdgerton
Mar-20-2008, 3:51pm
Or a Mac...
Don't get real comfortable thinking that you don't need an anti-virus with a Mac. The only reason there are less viruses for the Mac is because the audience is smaller. The number of Mac viruses is growing daily. I support user on Macs as well as PC's.

Keith Erickson
Mar-20-2008, 3:56pm
It was obviously started by a Gibson basher! #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mad.gif
Let the conspiracy theories commence http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/laugh.gif

MikeEdgerton
Mar-21-2008, 8:27am
The Gibson site appears to be virus free this morning. I will note however that some of the Epiphone pages cannot be found and I'm going to guess they took a hit.