PDA

View Full Version : Rocker needs help on mando playing

Narayan Kersak
Feb-18-2008, 9:05am
Howdy:

So my background is in rock/blues guitar. #I picked up mando to play irish music, I'm cool with that. #I've been playing with this group who aren't much like anything I've played before, I need some tips on tasteful mandolin soloing.

On this link I've uploaded some tunes...montana breeze and orphan girl have some examples of what I've been doing solo wise. #If you can give me some idea of how to make this go more with the song that would be helpful. What I mean by that, is that I feel I'm playing solos as if I was playing guitar, and I think this type of music typically has a different kind of feel than what I'm coming up with.

http://www.healingeasy.com/Tunes.html

woodwizard
Feb-18-2008, 9:48am
I remember in one of my past bands we did Orphan Girl and I used a lot of tremelo that seemed to work well and also slipped in fill licks to fit Gillians style on thaten'.
Keep up the good work. I like what you're doing.

Bob Wiegers
Feb-18-2008, 10:02am
I listened to Orphan Girl...love that song. I'm listening to the original now, and the biggest contrast for the solos is how Gill/David keep very close to the melody of the tune. I like some of the stuff you're doing, but I think you're right, it doesnt quite "go" with this type of tune. one other thing I noticed is that it seems like your rhythm section is rushing a bit, which may contribute to a less laid-back rendition.

but over all, good stuff!

Narayan Kersak
Feb-18-2008, 10:53am
Yes, sticking with the melody a bit sounds like a good idea. The drummer does rush a bit every now and again. He's working on it.

I'll need to work on my tremelo a bit. I Keep thinking the mando will just keep ringing like a guitar. ; )

JeffD
Feb-18-2008, 11:08am