PDA

View Full Version : Friend of the devil

djc227
Feb-01-2008, 3:01pm
Does anyone have tab to Friend of the Devil? Specifically the intro and solo? I heard this song played at Winfield and absolutely loved it, but I can't find anything dealing with mandolin tab.

jefflester
Feb-01-2008, 3:52pm
http://www.mandolincafe.net/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=17;t=50606

djc227
Feb-01-2008, 5:18pm
yeah, I read that before but I'm not very good at playing by ear yet. I can play simple tunes by ear, but not something like this. I was hoping that someone had either tab or standard musical notation for it.

jefflester
Feb-01-2008, 5:57pm
This is a pretty simple tune.

The intro is G and C chords with a walk down.
So start 0523 and walk the D string down 0423, 0223, 0023. Then move it over to the C chord 5230, 4230, 2230, 0230. That's it for the intro and verses (just G and C).

(chords don't quite line up with actual position with this font)
VERSE:
G
I lit out from Reno,
# # # #C
I was trailed by twenty hounds
G
Didn't get to sleep that night
# # # # #C
'Till the morning came around.

CHORUS:
D
Set out runnin' but I take my time
#Am
A friend of the devil is a friend of mine
# D
If I get home before daylight,
#Am # # # # # # # # # ## # # # ## D
I just might get some sleep tonight.

BRIDGE:
D
Got two reasons why I cry
D
Away each lonely night,
# #C
The first one's named Sweet Anne Marie,
# #C # # # # # # # # # # # # #C #C#
And she's my hearts delight.
# #D
The second one is prison, baby,
# #D
The sheriff's on my trail,
# #Am
And if he catches up with me,
# # C # # # # # # # #D
I'll spend my life in jail.

When you talk about a solo, what version are you referring to? Make up your own, just noodle in the key of G.

GVD
Feb-01-2008, 7:44pm
It sounds better to me to throw a C between the Am and D on the last line of the chorus.

CHORUS:
D
Set out runnin' but I take my time
Am
A friend of the devil is a friend of mine
#D
If I get home before daylight,