PDA

View Full Version : Tuning with a guitar tuner?

cantaffordfender
May-08-2007, 11:41am
hi,im a complete novice with the mandolin,and have trouble tuning by ear.i have a led. electric guitar tuner.eg...E,A,D,G,B,E,does anyone know if there is any way i can use it to tune my mandolin?.i just cant grasp the way the mandolin string notes are in reverse.eg,why is the A string a higher pitch than a guitars G?...it is a cheap acoustic mandolin i have,and have a battery guitar tuner with a pickup clamp.im on a low budget,do i need to invest in a led mandolin/violin tuner,or can i get by with my guitar tuner.any ideas would be most welcome, http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/sad.gif

mandroid
May-08-2007, 12:10pm
Tuner should recognize frequency of string , and the octave is the only difference

EADG ascend (go up) in 4ths efg,abc,def,ga

Mandolin (and violin) ascent in 5ths gabc,defg,abcd,efga..
decending intervals are reversed.
>ABCDEFG< ..

Jim Broyles
May-08-2007, 12:11pm
An electronic tuner will display a note regardless of the octave, so an A on a guitar at the open 5th string, will read the same as an A at the 2nd fret of the G string. You can tune a mandolin with a guitar tuner. Set your tuner to auto rather than manual, and simply read the notes G, D, A and E and don't use the B. The A on a mandolin is an octave plus one step higher than a G on a guitar, however, just to eliminate confusion, within the same octave, A is higher than G. The G on a mandolin is the same pitch as the G on a guitar, but all the other notes are either one or two octaves higher than the same named note on a guitar.

Ray(T)
May-08-2007, 12:38pm