PDA

View Full Version : Where do i connect the strap on the tailpiece?



PamGray
Apr-24-2007, 1:16pm
I just recently purchased a 1949 Gibson A-50. Excuse my ignorance, but how do I connect a strap to the tailpiece when it doesn't have a button? The tailpiece has a smooth cover that is shaped like a cloud. I would rather not change anything out on it. Someone told me that I could tie the strap behind the tailpiece, but I would like the advice of you "experts". Thanks so much.
Sincerely,
Pam

mandroid
Apr-24-2007, 1:44pm
I have another one of those,[A50,buttonless TP] there is a hump/tunnel,the
slide stop for the cover. the cord goes thru that , and a knot keeps it there.
A tidy option is a small cordlock for the stopper , but a figure 8 knot does the trick fine.

I wrap the cord around the middle of the headstock on the other end.

MikeEdgerton
Apr-24-2007, 1:46pm
Look at this (http://www.mandolincafe.net/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=7;t=43242) thread. I had the same problem. Here are two ways to handle it.

PamGray
Apr-24-2007, 2:30pm
Thank you so much for the advice. The thread that I went to was extremely helpful. I am a visual learner, so the pictures were great. I can't wait to get home so that I can attach my strap. I was just worried that the strap would cause too much pressure on the tailpiece when I attached it with a knot behind the tailpiece. Y'all are great!
Pam

MikeEdgerton
Apr-24-2007, 2:52pm
Glad it helped.