PDA

View Full Version : Here's one to watch



Jun-27-2006, 12:08pm
This auction (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=130002064940&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.ebay.com%3A80%2Fsearch%2Fse arch.dll%3Ffrom%3DR40%26satitle%3D130002064940%26f vi%3D1) says the instrument is in Oregon but tells you to call a telephone number in Texas. Beyond the pre-approved bidders list the USD at the end of the price throws up a few flags and the fact that the seller has 100% feedback but has never sold anything. If it's legit I'll be amazed.

Jim Garber
Jun-27-2006, 12:21pm
The area code thing is a little strange but the seller has sold a few items back in 2002. I usually do a search for the F4 pics from dealers' sites but did not find anything. Also the photos are on a photo hosting site with some other items.

OTOH the Buy It Now price os suspect.

Prob best would be to contact this person if interested and see what is up as far as their legitimacy. I often ask them if I can come around and take a look at the instrument or, if it is somewhere not near me, could my cousin come a take a look. It is amazing how many cousins I have in Jakarta. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Jim

Tom C
Jun-27-2006, 12:35pm
The buy it now is very low. No reserve and a strting bid on $99. Phone number area code are suspect -Maybe they moved.
Biggest thing is the $ after the price. of 2,100$ Not the american way $2,100
Can't hurt in calling.

ellisppi
Jun-27-2006, 12:43pm
I will tell you one thing, the pics are out of date because I made a new reproduction bridge for this mandolin Sunday, and I seriously doubt the proud new owner here in Austin is selling it so soon!

Jun-27-2006, 12:48pm
I will tell you one thing, the pics are out of date because I made a new reproduction bridge for this mandolin Sunday, and I seriously doubt the proud new owner here in Austin is selling it so soon!
Cracking up....

http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

I love this place.

Jim Garber
Jun-27-2006, 2:34pm
Hah! Tom, that is great!! Diego, you were right.

Jim

ellisppi
Jun-27-2006, 2:53pm
A little more info: here is the original legit listing from a few weeks ago # 7419047917 . This mando has the COOLEST back, the finish crazing follows the curl. Its AMAZING I will try to get a photo that does it justice. I will see a lot of this mando from now on.

Jun-27-2006, 3:46pm
I will tell you this, eBay has made it harder to report a suspected fraud auction. It used to be easier. When you go to the Security page and you select "Report another problem" (as reporting a fraudulent auction isn't listed) it takes you here (http://pages.ebay.com/help/contact_us/_base/index_selection.html). You'll note there is nothing about reporting a fraudulent auction here either. I guess nobody ever posts any of these on eBay. By the way, I reported this this morning, still no answer, not even the usual auto-reply. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/blues.gif

Mr.Lizard
Jun-27-2006, 5:44pm
It is my mandolin the scammer was trying to sell. I reported it to ebay and it was easy. I got a quick response, but the listing didn't go away right away. It's gone now though. I talked to Mr. Scammer for a moment, until he hung up. On to the next scam, I suppose.

Jun-27-2006, 6:01pm
Hey Tom, nice mandolin.