View Full Version : careful..
newbreedbrian
May-31-2006, 7:30am
this one reeks of scam. and there's a bidder as well, can't contact him because of private bid ID
<a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/1921-Lloyd-Loar-Era-Gibson-L4-Artists-Model-Mandolin_W0QQitemZ7419268238QQcategoryZ10179QQ
rdZ1QQcmdZViewItem" target="_blank">L4http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif</a>
brunello97
May-31-2006, 8:08am
hmmm, the bidder could be a ringer as well. Too bad, it is a nice looking mandolin.
I'm intrigued by the audacity of these schemes but certainly hope that no one (or myself) actually fall for them.
Mick
see also
L-4 Gibson mandolin? Loar era? (http://www.mandolincafe.net/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=13;t=35113)
Dave Hanson
May-31-2006, 8:35am
I mailed this seller about picking up this mandolin if I win, as I only live a few miles away, no reply so far.
Dave H
Eric F.
May-31-2006, 8:39am
Any e-mail sent through e-Bay "will not be received." Well, no, of course it won't, cuz someone has hijacked a legitimate account.
Jim M.
May-31-2006, 9:50am
It's definitely a scam. The instrument was sold just recently on Ebay. Click on the photos and it will take you to the completed listing.
Jerry Byers
May-31-2006, 10:41am
I sent an email to him and asked about shipping and such. This was his reply:
Hi there,
I want to inform you that the buy it now price for the mandolin is 2000USD.All the shipping taxes will be included in the price so you will have a free delivery directly at your location.If you think that my price is too high for you and you are really interested in buying the mandolin I want to inform you that the price is negociable.
The deal will go strictly according to eBay's rules and policy.
To start the official transaction, I need to know your details-full name and shipping address.As soon as I have this information, I'll start the official procedure, and eBay will notify you about this through an invoice that you will receive it after i will forward them the information asked before.
Now please let me know what you have decided.
Thanks and hope to hear from you soon.
As previously stated, be very careful with this one.
The listing has been removed.
TommyK
Jun-02-2006, 7:14am
The listing has been removed.
Too bad though http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/sad.gif The guy was certainly in need of the money for Engrish ressons! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/coffee.gif