PDA

View Full Version : E-bay Scam?



Jim M.
Apr-06-2004, 10:06am
0 Feedback, reserve met at $900, wire transfer only, located in Bali. Smells funny to me:

Ebay Dawg (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3716371791&category=10179)

I can't find where they stole the pictures from, though.

John Zimm
Apr-06-2004, 10:46am
What does this normally go for? Yeah, best to avoid sellers with no feedback, especially overseas. That could get messy.

-John.

FrankenMouse
Apr-06-2004, 11:02am
The Indonesia connection raises doubt, and the "wire transer only" deal is the clincher. A scam for sure.

I've sent the seller my standard email, asking about the ninth string...

Jim M.
Apr-06-2004, 11:05am
Kentucky Dawg model would normally go for $3000 or so

fiddler59
Apr-06-2004, 4:08pm
That seller smells filthy. he he he !!!
DB

stevef
Apr-08-2004, 4:31am
It's a scam alright. I bought this mandolin on ebay in November and was surprised to see it for sale again with the same pictures and description. Fraud auctions are so commonplace on ebay these days but the company seems to downplay the problem. It's all about the $$.

Kid Charlemagne
Apr-08-2004, 5:41am
It's unfortunate that the buyer's ID has been made unavailable for other people to see (and to email a warning to).

Hope someone doesn't get burned too badly...

Kbone
Apr-08-2004, 6:07am
My daughter is a friend of Jesse (last name escapes me )of the Lynn Morris Band " and he emailed her saying he got ripped off on a mando that wasn't what it was stated to be, just a parts mandolin , and when he asked for his money back they said : " they spent it all , so he thinks he's had for lack of a better term. ( purchased on ebay )

Mando Medic
Apr-08-2004, 7:44am
That would be Jesse Brock. What a picker! Kenc

Bill Snyder
Apr-09-2004, 10:02pm
I see that this auction has ended. The seller is now listed as "fans_spiderman( 0 ) Not a registered user"
Maybe ebay found out he was a fraud and took action.