View Full Version : Question about fake Gibson mandolins on Ebay
I've noticed a few "fake" Gibson mandolins recently on Ebay and was wondering why Gibson and Ebay hasn't done something.
The item descriptions do say that they are "copies", "not real Gibson", but they don't allow "fake" Rolex watches. Last time I checked, fake brand name items are illegal.
rakroft
Feb-02-2006, 5:25am
I saw one on Ebay last week, but noticed the listing was later pulled. The posting said it was a copy. I think Ebay encourages its users to report fakes or instances where someone throws a brand name in the title ("Johnson NOT Gibson" - keyword spamming) just to get the listing to show up when people do searches. The outcome of the lawsuit Tiffany has with Ebay may have some effect as they are suing, saying Ebay has helped the spread of counterfeit goods. When I saw the fake last week, I had the impression someone was proud of his work and really didn't know it was wrong to use the Gibson name.
lloydlore
Feb-02-2006, 6:56am
eBay states they will investigate reports on copies which definitely includes Gibson however, they also say they will contact the name owner, in this case Gibson, and ask if the item infringes on their rights before they pull the item. It's possible if Gibson doesn't feel threatened by it, it's a one-off or whatever they may allow it. There is a section in eBay for reporting fake ans counterfeit items where they describe the process they go through.
jim simpson
Feb-02-2006, 7:01am
"..Ebay encourages its users to report fakes or instances where someone throws a brand name in the title ("Johnson NOT Gibson" - keyword spamming) just to get the listing to show up when people do searches."
I hate when people do that! Like listing "acoustic guitar w/Gibson strings", do a search for Gibson guitars and you get a listing for an Esteban w/Gibson strings.
futrconslr
Feb-02-2006, 10:20am
You mean an Esteban is not a good guitar? But I got the free hat and glasses.....
Lane Pryce
Feb-02-2006, 10:27am
#But I got the free hat and glasses.....
No amp? http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wow.gif Lp
Dave Reiner
Feb-06-2006, 1:35pm
http://cgi.ebay.com/Gibson-A-2-mandolin-Vintage-1920s_W0QQitemZ7388411064QQcategoryZ10179QQrdZ1QQc mdZViewItem #This A-2Z is a scam, right? #serial number from a guitar, private auction, request for contact outside of eBay...
Dave
mtnrose
Feb-06-2006, 4:44pm
YES, it sold for $6000 + several weeks ago and since then keeps coming back from different locations, both here and abroad, and from various sellers. Seems to pop back up as fast as ebay shuts it down. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mad.gif