PDA

View Full Version : Another Scam



mandoforme
Jan-05-2006, 6:31pm
Well it appears we have another scam artist on the auction site. Item #4817784513. Current bid is $17.50. Seller has no feedback. It seems like I have seen those pictures before. Fine example of a snakehead.

Greenmando
Jan-05-2006, 6:39pm
Gibson A-2 mandolin - Vintage 1920's (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=4817784513&ru=http://search.ebay.com:80/4817784513)

Maybe, try asking for more pics.

mandoforme
Jan-05-2006, 6:46pm
Thanks for the link, Greenmando. I have already emailed the seller for additional photos, and for his "buy it now" price. I think the picture is of a mandolin that sold a few weeks ago.

f5loar
Jan-05-2006, 6:49pm
It sure has all the classic things to look for in a scammer. Private ID;only 1 item to sell;no feedback;email offebayline for buy it now price(which by the was is illegal by ebay's terms. Ebay should pull the ad for that alone!)Will pay shipping(even to Iraq?) and only one photo. Buyer beware on this one!

MML
Jan-05-2006, 6:52pm
Major scam, that mandolin has been used twice now for scam purposes. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mad.gif

mandoforme
Jan-05-2006, 6:58pm
I feel like having a little fun with this guy. #I think I will email him with an offer of $3,000 for the mandolin if he closes the auction immediately. #Also,tell him I will fly to California to pick up the mandolin in person.

mythicfish
Jan-05-2006, 7:15pm
This is the A2-Z that sold for about $6600.
If I had just fallen off the turnip truck I might put in a bid.

chuck.naill
Jan-05-2006, 7:42pm
A closer look at the picture, doesn't the sound hole look odd?

mandoforme
Jan-07-2006, 4:30pm
The scam artist finally sent me an email today. Below is a copy of his response.

Hello ,


The mando is for real . The buy it now price for it is 3080us dollars . I am located in New York and the mando will be shipped from here on my charge .
It have a perfect conditions #.

Let me know what your decision is !

mandoforme
Jan-07-2006, 4:33pm
This guy is a real dumb***. #His listing on ebay stated that he was from California, but his email says he is from New York. #Should I email him and tell him how stupid he really is, or just play along with him some more?

Greenmando
Jan-07-2006, 5:00pm
I keep getting a odd search from my link, the auction # does not link anymore. Looks like it was removed.

mandoforme
Jan-07-2006, 10:00pm
Greenmando, I too noticed he removed his listing. #I responded to the email he sent me regarding the mandolin. #I told him I would fly to New York and pay for the mandolin in person. #Will see what kind of excuse he comes up with next. #The next email he sends will probably state the mandolin is in Canada or Mexico. #First it was California, now it's New York. #I am going to keep messing with him!

sailaway
Jan-10-2006, 1:18am
hey doesn't J Mark Lane live in NY ? maybe J Mark would email the guy, ask the guy to drop the mando off at his law office or something for inspection --- then you all could persecute --- oops prosecute---the scammer for an e-mail fraud .... http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif