PDA

View Full Version : I need another mando

Pen
Mar-21-2005, 10:25am
I purchased a great mando which I love about 4 months ago (a Turkey Creek). The thing is a hoss when played acoustically. My problem is I recently started playing with a group that is comprised of a drum, 2 guitars, bass and keyboards (guitars and bass are all electric). My current setup is to play into a Shure 57 mic. That's just not getting it done. I just can't be heard.

I'm assuming I need to purchase a mando with pickup (I don't want to put pickups on my TC mando - imo it would ruin it). I've looked around and have only seen Ovations that sorta fit my bill. I really only have about $500 to spend (my finacee will kill me if i drop more than that after I just spent $2k last December). I'd prefer a used mando (more bang for my buck) that sounds decent unplugged but will hold it's own when plugged in with the band. What are some good options?

Any ideas that will allow me to showcase my mandolin in this group?

Thanks!

Professor PT
Mar-21-2005, 11:02am
There are some non-invasive pick-ups you could use; I'll let others go into the details, but I wouldn't buy another mando just to play plugged in.

John Flynn
Mar-21-2005, 11:36am
I agree with the professor. For under $500, there isn't much, unless you can perhaps find an MK with a built-in pickup used. A better deal would be to take your $500 and get a good pickup that is removable and non-marking. The Schetler Dyn-M seems to be popular, as a high-end option. You can sometimes find them used in the Cafe' Classifieds or on EBay. You could use it in conjunction with your mike and get a great sound with no feedback.

darthstar
Mar-21-2005, 12:37pm
The band just needs to give you more solos.

Jonathan Reinhardt
Mar-21-2005, 1:44pm
who can't hear you? on stage? in practice? what's coming thru out front?