PDA

View Full Version : Lil' toy amps:

glauber
Mar-11-2005, 4:02pm
I was just sorely tempted to pick up one of those little battery-powered amps from pignose. Are those any good? Is there something better on that same vein (little battery-powered toy amp)?

John Flynn
Mar-11-2005, 4:59pm
The basic Pignose is a strange animal. It is really not a toy, but it isn't really a serious amp either. It is very well made and sounds pretty good considering, but it is of limited utility. It is a great practice amp to use with a solid-body and it is powerful enough to give an acoustic a bit of an added boost in a jam that would allow it, but that's about it. I am intrigued by some of the larger Pignose amps, but I have no experience with them.

glauber
Mar-11-2005, 5:10pm
it is powerful enough to give an acoustic a bit of an added boost in a jam that would allow it
That's what's tempting me to buy one. That and wanting to be cool like Ralph Maccio in Crossroads. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Ted Eschliman
Mar-11-2005, 5:20pm
This one really rocks:
http://rolandus.com/images/products/instrument_amplifiers/microcube_md.gif

Street price UNDER $100...
Roland Microcube (http://rolandus.com/products/details.asp?CatID=7&SubCatID=32&ProdID=Micro%20Cube). Check out their online demo!
*Ultra-compact portable DSP guitar amp with 5-inch speaker
Runs on battery or AC power (adapter supplied) and includes carry strap
*7 COSM guitar amp models including JC-120 and a special mic preamp model
*6 DSP effects: chorus, flanger, phaser, tremolo and separate Delay/Reverb
*New Digital Tuning Fork with support for flat tunings up to 2 semitones
*Recording/Headphones output and stereo Auxiliary input for CD players, etc.

delsbrother
Mar-11-2005, 5:26pm
That's what's tempting me to buy one. That and wanting to be cool like Ralph Maccio in Crossroads. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif
Yeah, but can you cut Steve Vai's head in Hell?