PDA

View Full Version : condenser mic battery life

Old Red
Feb-20-2005, 9:32am
I just began using a Shure PG81, Shure's budget line condenser mic. It works very well with my mando and dobro, and I'd like to keep using it. I've used an SM-57 and other similar mics before so I have no experience with a condenser. Anyone have any idea on how often I'll have to replace the AA battery if I use alkalines? Thanks.

Pete Martin
Feb-20-2005, 2:56pm
Like anything else, if you turn the battery off after use, you should get a few hours out of each battery. #Keep some spares. #Often you'll get to a gig and say "Oh $h!t. #I forgot to turn off the mic, have a dead battery and don't have a spare."

(Just my opinion) A better thing is use a condenser mic that needs phantom power and have a board that supplies it, or bring a phantom supply with you.

Old Red
Feb-20-2005, 6:32pm
Thanks Pete, for those sage words of advice. #I went with the PG81 partly because of its relatively low price and partly because I can't always be sure that phantom power will be available on the boards I play through. #I wanted the battery option. #Unfortunately, this model didn't offer both. #I'll make sure I carry lots of AAs with me.

Thanks again for the info.

Andy

MartinD_GibsonA
Feb-20-2005, 10:20pm
I can't always be sure that phantom power will be available on the boards I play through. #I wanted the battery option. #Unfortunately, this model didn't offer both.

Old Red -- Do you mean that the PG81 doesn't offer the option for both phantom power *and* a battery? #If so, that's pretty curious since both Shure's Web site (http://www.shure.com/microphones/models/pg81.asp) and spec sheet (http://www.shure.com/pdf/specsheets/spec_wiredmics/pg81.pdf) say it does. #The spec sheet also says you can get up to 10,000 hours out of a battery.

Old Red
Feb-21-2005, 9:34pm